Marvel Studios confirm Phase 4 film slate which includes Black Widow spin-off and MCU sequels

The last few days has seen San Diego Comic-Con provide plenty of important news announcements regarding upcoming films and series though it’s no surprise that Marvel Studios has got everyone talking right now.

Following the record-breaking success of Avengers: Endgame, the studio is now preparing itself for Phase 4 of the comic-book franchise with Marvel boss Kevin Feige revealing the next set of films to come.

First up is the upcoming Black Widow spin-off which takes place just after Captain America: Civil War (2016) but also set before Natasha Romanoff’s tragic fate in Endgame. Scarlett Johansson once again reprises her role as the super-heroine while there are key roles for a number of newcomers to the MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) including British starlet Florence Pugh (Fighting with my Family, Midsomer), David Harbour (Stranger Things, Hellboy), O-T Fagbenle (The Five, The Handmaid’s Tale), Ray Winstone (The Departed, King of Thieves) and Oscar-winner Rachel Weisz (The Mummy, The Favourite).

The film will be directed by Cate Shortland (Berlin Syndrome, SMILF) and is scheduled for release on 1 May 2020.

2020 will also introduce us to another set of Marvel superheros in the newly-announced Eternals. The film will focus on the Eternals, a race of immortal beings who lived on Earth and shaped its history and civilizations.

Oscar-winning actress Angelina Jolie (Tomb Raider, Maleficent) and British actor Richard Madden (Bodyguard, Rocketman) are the high-profile names confirmed for the fantasy flick with additional cast members including Kumail Nanjiani (The Big Sick, Silicon Valley), Salma Hayek (Desperado, The Hitman’s Bodyguard), Brian Tyree Henry (Widows, Child’s Play), Dong-seok Ma (Train to Busan, The Outlaws), Lia McHugh (American Woman, The Lodge) and Lauren Ridloff (Wonderstruck, The Walking Dead).

Chloe Zhao is helming the film which is set for release on 6 November 2020.

There are also upcoming sequels to both Doctor Strange and Thor on the horizon too. In the case of the former, Benedict Cumberbatch reprises his role as the mystical Avenger Doctor Stephen Strange in the brilliantly-titled Doctor Strange and the Multiverse of Madness. Scott Derrickson returns to direct with Elizabeth Olsen set to feature in the film as Scarlet Witch.

That particular outing is set for release on 7 May 2021.

As for Thor, it has officially been confirmed that the God of Thunder is getting a fourth film which is entitled Thor: Love and Thunder. Directed again by Taika Waititi, the film once again stars Chris Hemsworth as the heroic Thor with Tessa Thompson also back as Valkyrie.

Having sat out Thor: Ragnorak (2017), Natalie Portman is set to return as former love interest Jane Foster but with a twist. The character will be taking on a new direction in the fourth film by becoming the new female Thor!

And if all of that wasn’t enough, Feige also confirmed Black Panther 2, Guardians of the Galaxy 3, Fantastic Four, Captain Marvel 2 and Mutants will all be released during Phase 4 too.

Plenty to look forward to then!

Be the first to comment on "Marvel Studios confirm Phase 4 film slate which includes Black Widow spin-off and MCU sequels"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: